What To Expect From Me

Here is what you can expect from me, in reading this blog of mine…

My Self: I experience the world as a white, cisgender, queer, polyamorous, fat, currently-able-bodied, non-neurotypical, pagan feminist woman.  This is my matrix of privileges and oppressions.  I am privileged in being white, cis, and able-bodied.  I am lacking privilege in being queer, polyamorous, fat, non-Christian (and especially by being a Witch), non-neurotypical, and a woman.  Additionally, at the current time I experience the world as one in the lower-middle-class economic strata.  This means I won’t be reviewing or hawking expensive personal growth products, because I can’t afford them, and I don’t want to assume that my readers can, either.  If you can, that’s great, and there are plenty of people who do those kinds of reviews.  Think of me as the poor woman’s conscious growth advisor.  I don’t plan on offering growth products or coaching or anything, but if I ever do, please call me on it if I start pricing myself out of range for the “average person”.

This also means I will view and sometimes explain things through a feminist, social-justice-consciousness-oriented lens.  I’ll do my best to provide explanatory links for concepts the average person won’t know, but this blog is not for those issues, so I won’t provide much explanation myself.

My influences: You will see references to concepts I have picked up from other people a lot.  Most often those references will be to things I learned from Havi Brooks of The Fluent Self, or Pace and Kyeli of Connection Revolution.  I talk about (and to!) my monsters, about my stuff (shorthand for one’s issues, triggers, fears, etc.  You know.  Stuff.), about shoes and Very Personal Ads and patterns and my Book of Me and my Dammit List.  I believe that connection and growth is the way to save the world.  I’ll be honest, I have a gigantic intellectual crush on Havi, so I will use a lot of her concepts and strategies and techniques and stuff.  Also, I’m way into her whole meeting-yourself-where-you-are no-judgments be-kind-to-yourself attitude.  I’m not very good at it yet, but I’m getting there.  It’s certainly helping things move along much faster and smoother than the whole self-mastery, just-discipline-yourself-into-doing-it, which is really all the encouragement I need to keep dancing down this path.

And my commitment to you is this: honesty, openness, authenticity.  To offer up my experience, and explain my process, in the hopes that it might be helpful to someone, somewhere out there.  What works for me may not work for you.  But then again, it may.

So what do you have to lose by trying?

~ by jadelynkaia on 02.09.2011.

Leave a Reply

 
